Beginner's guide to Blythe dolls:

----Edelweiss day custom blythe doll

Here's a concise beginner's guide to Blythe dolls:

  1. Introduction to Blythe Dolls: Blythe dolls are 11.5" tall with a unique eye mechanism featuring four sets of eye chips.

  2. Types of Legitimate Blythe Dolls:

    • Kenners (Vintage)
    • BL (2001-2002)
    • EBL (Excellence, 2002-2005)
    • SBL (Superior, 2003-2008)
    • RBL (Radiance, 2006-2013)
    • FBL (Fairest, 2009-Present)
    • RBL+ (Radiance +, 2013-Present)
    • ADG (Ashton-Drake Galleries, 2005-2008)
  3. Identifying Kenners: Vintage dolls with 6-7 lines of text on the body, four hair colors, and a softer pullstring sound.

  4. Modern Blythe Dolls:

    • BL: First modern dolls with boggled eyes.
    • EBL: Distinctive eyes with wispy eyelashes.
    • SBL: Notable for early models with downcast eyes.
    • RBL: Easy to customize, introduced translucent dolls.
    • FBL: Matte-faced initially, shiny-faced later, good for customizing.
    • RBL+: Successors to RBLs with similar construction.
  5. ADG Dolls: Faithful reproductions of original Blythe dolls, licensed for the North American market.

  6. Fake and Factory Dolls: Be cautious of fakes and factory dolls, especially when buying online.

  7. Where to Buy: Stick to known Blythe retailers or community selling areas to ensure authenticity.

This guide should help you get started with Blythe dolls!

Back to blog

Leave a comment