Junji Ito's 'Tomie' series

"This journey through Junji Ito's 'Tomie' series is nothing short of a rollercoaster of horror, with each short story contributing to the unsettling narrative of a character who defies the conventional horror archetype.

  1. Tomie:

    • Despite being Ito's early work with less polished art, 'Tomie' stands out as one of his best-told stories, setting the stage for the eerie saga that follows.
  2. Part 2:

    • While somewhat forgettable, it features compelling facial expressions and a delightful twist in the ending.
  3. Basement:

    • A thrilling hospital horror story, showcasing Ito's ability to craft unsettling narratives within medical settings.
  4. Photo:

    • The introduction of Tsukiko adds depth to the series, with well-executed horror elements and an enjoyable ending.
  5. Kiss:

    • Though considered the weakest of the Tsukiko stories, it still maintains an acceptable standard within the series.
  6. Mansion:

    • A fun yet enigmatic installment that leaves lingering questions, craving for further exploration.
  7. Revenge:

    • Marks a point of formulaic fatigue but remains enjoyable as a standalone story without introducing significant elements.
  8. The Basin of the Waterfall:

    • While less interesting as a Tomie installment, its beautiful artwork and standalone narrative make it noteworthy.
  9. Painter:

    • Strikes a perfect balance between standalone and Tomie-centric, offering an engaging storyline and refreshing the saga.
  10. Assassins:

    • Introduces a development in Tomie's character but veers into absurdity, not resonating well with the audience.
  11. Hair:

    • Well-executed with a shift in perspective, exploring the consequences of innocent intentions gone wrong.
  12. Adopted Daughter:

    • Commendable for delving into a younger Tomie's story, with a heartfelt aspect amid moments of narrative excess.
  13. Little Finger:

    • Depressing and lacking, with a protagonist's dilemmas feeling over-the-top and somewhat comical.
  14. Boy:

    • A dark exploration of child grooming, showcasing Ito's willingness to confront real-life horrors and evoke genuine emotions.
  15. Moromi:

    • A return to the formulaic "horny male" plotline without delivering significant scares or intrigue.
  16. Babysitter:

    • Uncomfortable and unsatisfying, with a promising setup but a conclusion that falls short of expectations.
  17. Gathering:

    • Unique with a sympathetic protagonist, showcasing Tomie's need to exert effort, exceeding expectations and providing an enjoyable experience.
  18. Passing Demon:

    • The start of a trilogy offering a different perspective on Tomie, introducing a more innocent vibe and a mysterious man in black.
  19. Top Model:

    • Explores the backstory of the man in black, presenting a satisfying rivalry with Tomie and a brutal conclusion.
  20. Old and Ugly:

    • The final installment in the trilogy and the last Tomie manga, offering a fitting closure to the saga despite some unanswered questions.
  21. Takeover:

    • A special feature on the Junji Ito Collection DVD, introducing a new Tomie manga with intriguing body-swapping elements and a descent into madness.

In essence, the 'Tomie' series delivers a mix of horror, discomfort, and occasional brilliance, offering a unique and complex narrative that has left a lasting impact on its readers."


Back to blog

Leave a comment